the 1st president of America  

poles538 74M  
367 posts
8/13/2016 10:10 pm

Last Read:
9/21/2016 7:12 am

the 1st president of America

There were 8 yes count them 8 presidents before George Washington.
They are:
1. John Hanson (1721-1783): 2.
2. Elias Boudinot (1740–1821) :
3. Thomas Mifflin1744-1800):
4. Richard Henry Lee1732-1794):
5. John Hancock1737-1793):
6. Nathaniel Gorham1738-1796):
7. Arthur St. Clair1734-181:
8. Cyrus Griffin(1736-1796):

classicalrebel4 62M  
1129 posts
8/14/2016 7:56 am

We had to have had some kind of leadership before the first real election. I had to look twice at the years before I realized that they didn't indicate years in office.

Please don't let me be misunderstood.

sphxdiver 68M  
20051 posts
8/14/2016 3:05 am

I knew there was at least two, prior to Washington.

igotplentytogive 42M  
1251 posts
8/14/2016 12:10 am

Lady.... No these men were not elected, they were appointed by congress Under what were called 'the articles of the confederation'. These men were granted a very limiting set of powers and were mostly 'non entities' in serious policy decisions. Remember this was right after having kicked the Brits to the curb (and their king) so we didn't really want any one person to have too much power...

Become a member to create a blog